1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

EXIF editor for Apple

Discussion in 'Apple/Mac' started by oddstray, Aug 17, 2008.

1. oddstray

oddstray

Jul 29, 2007
    San Diego
    I'm a PC-to-Apple immigrant. I'm not a professional photographer, so I have no reason to invest significant money for the best and easiest post-processing tools.

Sometimes I just want to do a simple EXIF-edit and resizing, to put my photos into our online album. iPhoto doesn't work, since its "export for Web" will resize but will, I assume, strip the EXIF. And I don't think it has any EXIF- editing capability.

I found a really good command-line (uses terminal.app) EXIF editor. But that requires a buncha' manual clicks/keystrokes. I could wrap it in a GUI (I'm a software wienie and am learning how to develop for Apple). But that doesn't get me image resizing.

Does anyone know of something reasonably priced, that provides EXIF-editing and resizing, that (a) runs on Mac OS X, or (b) provides source code in Java so I can rebuild it for Mac OS X?

Thanks ...

2. Define reasonably priced. Lightroom, Aperture, or CaptureNX will allow you to do all of this pretty well, and they're not that expensive considering what you get

3. rsirota

rsirota

Aug 6, 2008
    New Lenox, IL
    Try GraphicsConverter

4. oddstray

oddstray

Jul 29, 2007
    San Diego
    For what I want to do, less than $50 (USD). And bug-fix upgrades for free for at least five years. EXIF editing and image resizing isn't a complex software task. It is tedious, though, to create even a low-capability software package, so I was hoping someone had already done it.