Experience with Tripod base (eg. Kirk)?

Discussion in 'Tripods, Ball Heads, and Gimbals' started by sreeves31, Aug 5, 2007.

1. sreeves31

sreeves31

Jun 25, 2007
    Mason, OH
    I bought a replacement tripod for my aging Bogen this weekend. I am a short photographer and am considering removing the center post (since I almost never extend it) and replacing it with a Kirk tripod base. I have a Kirk ballhead and L-bracket and I have been impressed with the quality of this company's products and service. Does anyone use this type of base? Is it worth the 90 bucks or so for a little additional stability and flexibility? Thanks in advance for any comments.

2. I use a Markins base for my Gitzo 1327 but I use a Kirk head too and all Kirk's products are first rate. No worries.

3. I use a Kirk on my Gitzo 1325. It works like a charm.

4. There seems to be a certain upper tier of retailers that are mentioned in photo forums; this one and anothers regarding our gear. Companies that seem to either produce quality gear or excellant service or both in the vast majority of instances are; Kirk, RRS, Wimberley, B & H. If I have had a problem with any items purchased from any of these companies (one only); it has been replaced pronto with no hoops to jump through.
    If you think about it, with the Internet today and all the "photography forums" it wouldn't take long for a retailer to lose a substantial portion of their business by just a few negative posts.

5. sreeves31

sreeves31

Jun 25, 2007
    Mason, OH
    Thanks Mike, Nick and Gerald for the help. If I get one I'm going with the Kirk. Has anyone made this modification to their tripod and regretted it? If so, why?
    Other than the money is there a downside to this? Thanks again.

6. No - downside. The downside IMO is the use of a center column. Raising a column more than a few inches turns a 3-legged support into a one-legged support. Might as well use a monopod.