1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

External Battery for SB-800....

Discussion in 'General flash photography, lighting, and technique' started by MMarz, Jul 14, 2008.

1. MMarz

MMarz

Sep 15, 2007
    Long Island, NY
    Choices??

Should I look at the Quantum batteries or stick with the Nikon external batteries? I am looking for a faster cycle rate. Small size would be nice!!

2. jfrancis

jfrancis

May 8, 2005
    Orlando, FL
    Quantum make a small pack that will practically fit in a shirt pocket.

3. MMarz

MMarz

Sep 15, 2007
    Long Island, NY
    I've seen this pack John, thanks. I am new to the external pack world and don't know what I don't know. Wondering if there are benefits to going either way...

4. davidzvi

davidzvi

Apr 30, 2005
    Massachusetts
    David
    I found you either love them or hate them. I found them to be heavy and the cord was always in the way.

That said this is the one that I had, The Black Box. I also had his Tuxedo model. They were a package deal when I got them.

I found the Tuxedo to be enough for the bride/groom getting ready and most of the ceremony (depending on the length) and the Black box to easily last the whole reception.

He also has a lot of information on his site.

5. MMarz

MMarz

Sep 15, 2007
    Long Island, NY
    Thanks David.. I'll check out the links.

For wedding photography I can see the wires and hanging battery being a PITA. I shoot predominantly wildlife..already carrying a ton of gear. And, the sync cord to the bracket mounted flash is already there, so one more is not big deal.

6. Got It

Got It

Jun 22, 2006
    Alberta, Canada