Eye One Display 2 Questions

Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
4,507
Location
Haverhill, MA
I bought a new Eye One Display two last week and last night, downloaded the latest software (3.61 I think) and started to calibrate my monitor.

If it makes any difference, the monitor is a Compaq 1220 21" CRT (new old stock...great monitor by the way which I found new in the box for $100...so I bought two of them!)

Anyway....rather than using the EASY mode, I decided to run the advanced mode.

The contrast and brightness adjustments were a no brainier, but when it came to adjusting the white point I got lost (I've gotten to this step before and turned back to idiot mode).

Whether I go with the RGB presets or the individual color modes mode, the program opens up the same little box, sits there doing nothing...never asks me to do anything...and I give up after watching it do nothing but little tiny tweaks to the green channel which never changes a thing.

Am I missing something??????
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Messages
2,761
Location
nowhere
Dear Jim,

Looking at monitor specs, it has Selectable colour temperature. Can you set it to 6500? Are there options to fine-tune colour temperature or adjust RGB guns individually?
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
4,507
Location
Haverhill, MA
Iliah

I can indeed select the color temp and I do believe that the RGB's a re adjustbable individually.

The thing that I don't get is that when I get to that section of the profiling, the software doesn't direct me to do anything and it doesn't do anything itself....it just sits there?
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Messages
2,761
Location
nowhere
Dear Jim,

Is there any button, dialogue, or something - my version have "Stop" button:

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2006
Messages
1,883
Location
Boaz, Alabama
Jim,

When I adjust my monitor at this point I have found a tiny adjustment goes a looooong way. I thought I was doing something wrong until I finally figured out how small the adjustment was. I'm using a Samsung 24" SyncMaster 244 so there may be a difference in the adjustments?

If I get a chance tonight I will recalibrate so it will be fresh on my mind.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Messages
2,761
Location
nowhere
Dear Jim,

Next you are to start pressing buttons on the monitor to control individual guns. The goal is to get Red, Green, and Blue indicators into the center of the "green zone". Here is how it looks:

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


Of course an error of +/-50..100K and +/-5 cd/m^2 is quite reasonable.
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
4,507
Location
Haverhill, MA
Duh

Thanks Iliah....

I guess since it didn't tell me to do that, I wasn't quite bright enough to figure it out on my own.

Tomorrow evening I'll sit with a Crown on the rocks and have a go at it :)

Thanks Again!
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
2,483
Location
South Florida
Dear Jim,

Looking at monitor specs, it has Selectable colour temperature. Can you set it to 6500? Are there options to fine-tune colour temperature or adjust RGB guns individually?
Iliah,

I used a gretag macbeth to calibrate my 19" Lacie. I thought it made the screen look too cool. Is there a color temp I should set the monitor to, like the 6500k that you recommended for Jim? I get so lost with all these technical aspects.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Messages
2,761
Location
nowhere
Dear Harris,

Right now I have only limited Internet connection. Please post the exact model of your monitor, I will try to look it up tomorrow.
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2005-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom