Feel the "need" to upgrade

I've had my D300 for quite some time now and have been very happy with it. However, I just feel like I'm missing out on something not having an FX body. When I went from my D80 to my D300, it was a big jump in IQ. Now, after 3 or so years with the D300, I feel like I am wanting that next extra little bit - that FX something that no one can quite describe. I've pretty much resigned myself that now is not the time to make that jump since prices have actually increased due to the limited supply of D700s. So, I'm looking to upgrade when the D800 comes out. I don't know, maybe I'm hoping for too much. I know it is the photographer that makes the image. The camera is just a tool. And while I love photography, my skills are pretty average. So, am I really going to notice that elusive FX difference?

Hi Wendy... I'm just a hobbyist, and not that great of a photographer, but I upgraded from a D70 to a D700 late last year. Big difference. (Not that I couldn't get decent images out of my D70 - as long as I did my part.) Much better dynamic range, AF, high ISO capability, etc... those differences might be smaller for you than they were for me, depending on what actually arrives as the D800.

Since I started out on film many years ago, going to FX was nice because lenses felt "right" again, to me. The viewfinder was a lot better (closer to my old F3HP) - again, to me. The camera will meter with my old Ai-S lenses, and I've found I enjoy going back and using those lenses. I love the feel of the camera, and find it a joy to use. I'm now experimenting and learning more about different types of photography than I ever attempted with the D70.

My guess is that, yes you will notice the difference. Whether or not the difference in image quality and camera capability, or "that FX something that no one can quite describe" is worth the upgrade - only you can answer that. My D700 is way above my capabilities, and I found it to be "worth it". :biggrin: