Finally....Spring is here

Discussion in 'Birds' started by Frits, May 1, 2007.

1. (I can't believe I am actually doing this, am I turning into a birder!!?? :eek: )

After an endless and protracted winter, spring has finally arrived. The branches are budding and nest building is in full swing.
    I have no experience with birds, so bear with me - nothing fancy here. Just the fun to be out in my back yard without 3 layers of clothing and snow boots - yesss!!

D2x, Nikkor Ai-S 300mm f/2.8 with TC-14E (cropped)
    original.

2. Frits, feel free to send Charlo up instead! It don't have to be birds by no means at all. That would also give a nice spring picture for sure. :biggrin:

Enjoy the spring!

3. rbsmith

rbsmith

Apr 13, 2005
    Saltillo, Ms
    Nice shot, Frits. I find myself shooting birds alot more after a couple of trips to Alabama.

4. BirdLady

BirdLady

Jan 8, 2006
    Alabama
    Nice shot, Frits. Bird photography is addicting.

5. Gale

Gale

Jan 26, 2005
    Viera Fl
    I think you shot is very nice and that birdie looks nice and sure add to the image.

6. OMG, this is fun!

Stepped out for another quick one (Can I still turn around and run??? Next I am going to want "bird glass" and I will REALLY be in trouble :eek: ).

D2x. Nikkor Ai-S 300mm f/2.8 with TC-201 (cropped)
    original.

7. You're sliding down a very slippery slope, Frits!!! Birding = $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ Thankfully, my lens size is limited by the ability to handle it inside a kayak otherwise I'd be in the 200-400VR Club leaving my sobbing VISA card at home.

Knowing PJohnP can be an expensive friendship!! :wink:

8. DoorMan

DoorMan Guest

It is addicting - Nice photos Frits.

9. :smile: :smile: No 200-400VR on my wish list, nor do I care for any VR lens for that matter.
    My desires would be modest: I'd like an Ai-S 400mm f/3.5 (maybe an f/2.8 if I stretched it), or (if really stretching it) a Nikkor 500mm f/4.0P.

Realistically, an Ai-S 400mm f/3.5 would do just fine.