First couples shoot - Need C &C and lots of it!

Discussion in 'Formal Portraits and Weddings' started by surrealillusion, Oct 5, 2008.

1. surrealillusion

surrealillusion

Aug 23, 2007
    Ottawa
    Hey all, today I took my first foray into doing photography for couples. Coming away from my first shoot I think I need to have some more creativity and spontenaity when it comes to capturing shots.

I found that one of the most difficult things was trying to get more natual looking shots as if you the photogapher was just another passerby who just happen to notice something.

I would appreciate thoughts, suggestions, comments and of course criticism!

http://picasaweb.google.com/digitaldreamwerx/SundayAfternoonWithEricAndKo#

2. leahp26

leahp26

Apr 28, 2008
    Southern NH
    Hi there (not sure of your first name - maybe add to your signature?)

Nice first effort! I'm no expert but I've been reading a bunch of stuff recently on couples shots - you've asked for C&C so here are my thoughts:

- Great first attempt!

- Edit more carefully - almost half of the gallery are shots from behind them. I think if you have 30 or so pics you'd maybe want one or two of them from behind towards the end of the show to sort of end it and signify they are leaving

- Mix up your position - try taking them from a different angle or let them get further away from you before you take the picture

- #23 is a nice "from behind" shot as there is an interesting building in the background (I'm thinking maybe this has some meaning for them?) - I liked it

- Watch your aperture (I do this ALL the time so I'm really conscious of it at the moment) - you can't shoot wide open (i.e. f2.8 for example) if you have two people on different planes. When you shoot with a low number aperture you have a v shallow depth of field and so one person will be in focus and the other person will be a little soft. Photo 11 has GREAT focus on her eyes but he is a little soft