First Dragon pics... enjoy!

Discussion in 'Macro, Flowers, Insects, and Greenery' started by HurleyGirl, Aug 23, 2008.

1. Hello everyone. My name is Amanda, and I am VERY new at this whole thing, please be patient with me, but also honest. I can handle whatever you have to say to me. Tips will help! =) I was out today around the pond, and had some Widow Skimmers flying around, took some pics, please let me know what you think! =) Im shooting with a D60.

DSC_0929.gif

View attachment 242403

View attachment 242404

View attachment 242405

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 23, 2008
  2. rotxlk82

rotxlk82

Jul 20, 2007
    UK
    Hi Amanda, welcome to the cafe and thanks for contributing to the community.

Firstly, I'm not too sure why your images have come up as thumbnails. I expect that you've linked to the page on which they are stored as opposed to the image itself. To get them to appear at full resolution you need to pull the url of the image from the website (normally via image properties) and then put that into the IMG site syntax.

As for the images they're pretty good, I'm not an expert at this kind of shooting so I can't really give you much advice. My favourite is no3 because of the composistion and the way that the background has been reduced to a blur.

On a technical note the first image seems a little underexposed (maybe post processing could recover this) and in several of the others the focus is very slightly off.

Overall however great job for a first time out, I look forward to seeing more!

3. Spectre

Spectre

Feb 20, 2008
    Oregon
    Hi Amanda,
    First, Welcome to the Cafe.

Nice dragon. Your shots are good, but have the potential to be great.

If you don't mind, I would like to make a few suggestions.
    1. Try and get the focus on the eyes. The image will have more impact.
    2. Instead of using AF, try MF .... makes a world of difference.