First few photos from my 105mm DC

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by chamster, Sep 4, 2008.

1. Please comment on my first few photos of our baby taken by 105DC on D3. Photoshop used only to crop.

original.jpg

original.jpg

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 4, 2008
  2. Cute!

They are both overexposed though, what metering did you use ?

Kindest

3. cute family
    the odd yellow cast in image #2
    - right neck and side of face
    - both armpits

very odd
    i wonder from where that came

4. SMH77

SMH77

Feb 11, 2006
    Illinois
    ...the Red channel blew out on the skin in several spots. I've seen this many times and can spot it pretty easily now...

Sean

5. I agree, cute shots but both are pretty badly blown out.

6. Matrix metering. I think I used flash (Slow Sync).

7. Hi Sean, many thanks for the comments. I am new to digital photography, how could we fix this from happening again?

8. Thanks for the comments so far. I need all the help & tips as I am new to digital photography. I still haven't even read my D3 manual fully!!!

9. PJohnP

PJohnP

Feb 5, 2005
    Chaminda :

I see you stopped down a bit to f/2.8, which was a wise move with the shallow Depth-Of-Field (DOF) with the 105mm DC. However, with such a shallow DOF, a key element to making this lens sing for you is to always focus on the eyes of the subject (in this case your lovely baby), and to ensure that the eyes are in the same focal plane.

You know that old line about how "the eyes are the pathway to the soul" ? Well, in shooting the 105mm DC, or any fast glass like the 85mm f/1.4, the eyes are the key to successful photography. If the eyes are well focused, the image will resonate with the viewers.

Now, if the eyes are on a tilted plane relative to the camera, stop down a bit more, perhaps to f/4, and keep them focused. After you've shot with the lens for a relatively short time, you'll have a firm grasp of the DOF for various f/stops at various distances to the subject.