First go with B&W (BW400CN)

Discussion in 'Film Forum' started by rotxlk82, Sep 6, 2008.

1. rotxlk82

rotxlk82

Jul 20, 2007
    UK
    This is my first try shooting any kind of black and white film, I chose Kodak BW400CN because as you probably know it can be developed in colour chemistry and therefore didn’t require me to rely on one of the few UK labs that will work with ‘real’ B/W emulsions. I do plan to develop my own black and white film in the future, purely because I can’t afford to keep throwing money at these laboratories when in all likelihood I could be doing the developing work myself.

I must confess to having a very digital approach to shooting film, I don’t seem to have grasped the concept that the film actually has to be developed before I get any pictures! As a result I now have a whole load of negatives and slides to sort out as I sent about six months worth of shooting to be processed all in one go!

Anyway here is the first batch of many that I will be posting on the Café, all taken with the Nikon FA and 50mm F/2 AI lens.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Thanks for looking! Comments are welcome!

2. Thanks for sharing. I like the leaves best. Nice tonal range. Did you do your own scanning?

3. rotxlk82

rotxlk82

Jul 20, 2007
    UK
    No, these were scanned by the lab.

I have scanned myself before now however it's a very fussy process and my rather basic Canon flatbed scanner isn't really upto the job. It'd probabally pay for itself in time to get a decent scanner with dust removal, the labs do charge a decent amount more just to do some scanning.

I got another roll of BW400CN developed but not scanned, I might have a go at scanning the frames on that which look promising however. I'm drowning under a huge pile of negatives and slides at the moment so it could take a while though!

Thanks for looking, I've always enjoyed taking photos of backlit leaves up against the sky.