First Photoshoot - Shelbey

Discussion in 'Formal Portraits and Weddings' started by dx379, Aug 21, 2008.

1. dx379

dx379

Jul 9, 2008
    Tulsa, OK
    Guys/Girls,

Here are a couple of pictures from my first photoshoot. This is my first ever so please be gentle. I do not know how to use Photoshop (taking my first class on Saturday) but I did some basic editing.

CC welcome (just remember I am a newb at this) :tongue:

Shelbey_0208copy.

View attachment 241674

Regards,
    Jonny

2. I like the first one, even with the highlights.

The second one, appears soft and if you're going to cut off the tips of the fingers, you might as well cut the hand out completely. The "hot" rock wall she's leaning on distracts from her IMO.

3. Seth

Seth

Jun 6, 2006
    Tulsa, OK
    She's pretty cute, Jonny!

I pretty much agree with Phil's comments on the two shots.

You might pick up a reflector (or some foamcore from Michaels) and add that into the mix and see if you can get some good fill in the face without having to blow highlights elsewhere.

4. jfrancis

jfrancis

May 8, 2005
    Orlando, FL
    The first shot is interesting. The blown background is a popular look at present, so if that's what you were aiming for . . good job.

The second image is definitely soft and the light is too harsh. If you have to shoot under high sun, try to find open shade for your subject, and light with a reflector or strobe. That wall would have made an excellent backdrop, so try to make it more a part of the final image.

5. dx379

dx379

Jul 9, 2008
    Tulsa, OK
    Thank you everyone for your constructive criticism. I am learning new things everyday so will pay particular attention to everything you have said.

Thanks again,
    Jonny

6. Hi Jonny...

The first shot is pretty nice; The second is too soft.

It looks like the girls waist band is in focus (which is also about the centre of the frame).