First shots with the 70-200VR

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by manzico, Dec 18, 2005.

1. I suppose I should put this in the Macro/Flowers and Greenery thread, but I'm posting it here because it's also about my first impressions of the 70-200VR. WOW!!! This lens is definitely in a different class from the rest of my lenses. It's nearly as good at the edge of the image as it is in the center. Even in the most taxing conditions, there's barely a hint of chromatic aberation. And it's sharp... man is it sharp. I can see what people mean when they say that you have to be on top of your game to use this lens. And VR is a revelation. As an engineer, I understand how it works, and expected it to function well, but using it is really fantastic. It's actually fun to use. It can be a little heavy, but it's really not that bad. The tripod collar is great and the fast release is really well executed. It's winter in the desert so there's not much color to speak of at the botanical gardens, so alot of these are in b&w, but here you go anyway... some shots from my 70-200VR:

original.

original.

original.

original.

original.

original.

original.

original.

original.

original.

original.

original.

original.

Sorry for the long post, but I just had to share. I love this lens. As always, any and all comments are very welcome.

Dave

2. radz

radz

Nov 12, 2005
    NewDelhi,India
    Congrats for your VR70-200.Nice pics.

3. Gale

Gale

Jan 26, 2005
    Viera Fl
    Great images.

70-200 is one of the greatest lenses.
    Congratulations !!!!!

4. Flew

Flew

Jan 25, 2005
    Alabama
    David,

I can definitely see why you are excited. These are really nice images. I predict a long, enjoyable, and productive relationship. :smile:

5. Very creative use of your new lens. Keep it up, you will love the 70-200.

6. Baywing

Baywing

Feb 22, 2005
    CT USA