1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

First Time MMA

Discussion in 'Sports Photography' started by eng34ine, Jul 17, 2008.

1. Hi guys,

I really would like your opinion on the following images. This is my first time shooting MMA and the lighting was a challenge. I have looked at posts by others as well as browsed online to see what UFC and WEC is posting on their site and it appears that the lighting issues are consistent with the event. Any suggestions that you have may make it better next time.

Nikon d300, lens 28-70, 80-200, manual settings 1/250 @2.8, iso 1600 - 3200, WB-manual

web28.jpg
    Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

web29.jpg

web30.jpg

web31.jpg

thanks,

2. eng45ine

eng45ine

May 11, 2005
    Chicago, IL
    For a moment, I thought that you shot these at the firehouse. :redface: These are cool Rolly, plenty of action especially in the second one where the guy on the bottom is tapping out. Submission is a terrible fate. Thanks for sharing.

3. thanks Frank. It looks like I may be working with them regularly. I am trying to work on posters, etc. for them to sell as memorabelia. I also got a chance to meet and party with Shaquille O'Neil, Andre Berto ( WBC Welterweight Champ), Miguel Torres (WEC Bantamweight Champ) who is from your neck of the woods (east chicago, indiana.)

4. A few tips

If you're shooting a ring-based event, don't be afraid to poke the front element of your lens between the ropes (if you're allowed to) - most boxing photographers that I've seen shoot this way and it leads to far cleaner shots.