First time photo software user

Discussion in 'Apple/Mac' started by slabwax, Jul 12, 2007.

1. slabwax

Aug 30, 2006
    As the title says I'm new to the photo software thing.

I use a MacBook w/2gigs ram.

I'm going to pick up a photo software program this next week and I need some advice on what program will serve me best. Something with a low learning curve would be a plus. I can afford Nikon Capture NX, Lightroom is top of price range. I can also buy an Edu copy of Apple Aperture. What do you all think?

2. Dean,
    Can't say for the others, but I love Aperture. the work flow is great, and it does the majority of any PP I need done in just a few clicks. It's simple and intuitive to use which Is one of my main reasons for liking it. There are better photo editors available but in the Mac world I inhabit - I would recommend Aperture.
  3. A resounding second to Mark's comments above!
  4. Donald D

Donald D

Aug 19, 2006
    1. Iphoto - which is already installed on your computer
    2. Aperture - if you wish to go beyond iphoto
  5. You may also be able to obtain Lightroom at education rates. I use Mac and Lightroom and appreciate the easy integration with Photoshop.
    There is also a 30 day trial of the full versions of Lightroom and I believe Aperture so you can compare.
  6. Another vote for Aperture here! :smile:
  7. slabwax

Aug 30, 2006
    Thank you

Well I guess The Apples have it. I'll order Aperture in the morning. Thanks for all the input.
  8. peterparker

Jun 2, 2006
    Aperture or Lightroom, both available at educational discount.
  9. F15Todd

Feb 1, 2005
    Since I switched over to Mac I now have to update my photo editor also. Adobe will not let you cross platforms to update to Photoshop CS3 and I don't really want to spend that kind of money to get the full version of CS3. I really like Photoshop but I think the price will lead me to Aperture.