Focus shift not available at my settings

Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
664
Location
Maryland
I have a question about focus shift shooting in the D850. For some reason that option is grayed out on my camera and i get the message that that setting is not available in the camera's current settings or state. I have tried everything I can to get this to work. I've even gone so far as to read the manual:)but haven't had any luck. I've used afs lenses and reset all setting but had no luck. Can anybody point out what I might be doing wrong? I'm sure it must be operator error but for the life of me I can't figure it out. Thanks for any help.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
664
Location
Maryland
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #3
metering set to A or M?, lens and camera set to autofocus?
Yes they are. I actually did get it straightened out. Somehow my XQD card was quite completely inserted, at least that's what I think. I removed the card, inserted it and focus stacking was available. I was sure it had to be pilot error. Thanks for your help
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
664
Location
Maryland
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #5
I thought it was strange too. The downside of getting focus stacking to work is that now I guess to be able to use it for macros, I will need to upgrade my macro lens. I currently have the Nikkor 105 D, which is a great lens.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2006
Messages
5,573
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
I thought it was strange too. The downside of getting focus stacking to work is that now I guess to be able to use it for macros, I will need to upgrade my macro lens. I currently have the Nikkor 105 D, which is a great lens.
I had the same issue. I had a handful of manual and AF-D micro lenses but a friend sold me his 105mm f2.8 AFS for a good price. It works a treat for stacking.

Larry
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2020
Messages
4
Hi, I'm having the same problem that was described in the beginning of this discussion : On my Nikon D850 the FOCUS-SHIFT option is greyed out. I've tried what I could based on the info I found on the internet ( stop bracketing, set date & time, fully charge battery, insert SD card, AF ...) but without luck. Does anyone have an idea why that option remains greyed out on my camera ? ( ' Not available in the current settings' ...). Is there another setting that blocks it from working ? Thanks !
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2005
Messages
26,994
Location
Moscow, Idaho
Here is what Nikon has to say,

"Focus shift is available at all image quality settings. Note that focus shift is unavailable in some situations, including when multiple exposure or HDR shooting is in progress, the camera clock is not set, an incompatible lens is attached, or no memory card is inserted."

It's not a complete list. I'd add things such as single shot or continuous shooting mode.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2020
Messages
4
Thanks for the replies, but the suggestions do not apply to my situation : I use older lenses, but they are all AF lenses.
I switched the bracketing off, the camera is in single point mode, lens and camera are set to AF, the battery is fully charged, the clock is set, an SD-card is inserted
and there is no HDR nor multiple exposure going on.
There must be something else in the settings that conflicts with the focus shift option, but I can't find it ...

Could it be that my SD-card has not enough space (32GB) ?
I didn't buy an XQD-card yet. They are expencive, and I still have a few SD-cards I used on my former camera (Nikon D600).
Even the HDR option is also greyd out, just like the focus shift ... I also noticed that in the movie menu, the options 'movie quality' and 'active D-lighting' are also greyed out. I don't know if that indicates to something relevant, but I thought I might mention it here...

I have back button button focus, could that be the cause ?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 16, 2020
Messages
4
Older lenses: if screwdriver focussing, could that be the problem (it definitely would be on the Z6).

Try with a non-Screwdriver lens?

DG
Maybe that could be it : All my lenses are AF lenses.
I should try it with an AF-S lens . I'll try to borrow one, just to see if that is the cause of the greyed out focus shift option.
Or maybe I'll ask this in Nikon support.

Thanks !
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2020
Messages
4
Maybe that could be it : All my lenses are AF lenses.
I should try it with an AF-S lens . I'll try to borrow one, just to see if that is the cause of the greyed out focus shift option.
Or maybe I'll ask this in Nikon support.

Thanks !
I just checked the users manual again : Page 212 :' Use AF-S or AF-P lenses for this option.' I overlooked that !
Unless someone can advice me which AF-S lens I should buy (for mainly landscape photography), we can close
this thread.

Thanks to all of you for assisting me !
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2005-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom