Focusing - Manual Lenses

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by grt_napa, Jun 23, 2007.

1. I am a newbie to the mf lenses for my D200 and D70 DSLRS. Just bought a 200 1:4 ai lens and am difficulty focusing. Also just acquired a 28 mm 1:2.8 ai-s lens and the focusing was a breeze. Any learning curve observations will be greatly appreciated. Is the problem with my vision (being 68 yrs with corrected 20./20); my technique, the D200's focus screen???? I am reluctant to go the Katz Eye route if the only rationalization is for using a MF lens. Your thoughts...and thank you!

2. ultimind

ultimind

May 13, 2007
    Cleveland, OH
    I sold most of my manual lenses but I kept my 55mm F1.2. I find it extremely difficult to use on my D70 not having a Katz Eye focusing screen. It's a breeze to use on any film body that has a split prism finder. I don't think the screen is worth it for me just for one lens though.

3. I've got a different problem in that I have 7 lenses that I manually focus (5 AI/AIS lenses and two macros that have CPUs), so I have a KatzEye.

However, if you have just one (or one that is critical, for example I wouldn't bother if I had a 8/f2.8 fisheye), learn to use the "green dot" focusing aid. I find that I have to use both the green dot and the split image rangefinder. And moreover I don't have a Katzeye for my 2nd body anyway.

The design of the screen makes a massive difference in the net usability of manual focus. The Katzeye is not just a split image range finder - it also has a microprism collar and the "tooth" of the ground glass is also quite different and much more usable for manual focusing. Additionally, the Katzeye is much brighter than at least most of the Nikon screens (I have the OptiBrite option), making it considerably easier to check focus when using the DOF preview.

4. Sounds very similar to the problem I had with my 180mm AIS, 2.8. I almost gave up this great lens before I finally mastered it. BTW, I have horrible eyesight.