found an AF-D 35-70 f/2.8

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by janil, Jun 30, 2007.

1. I went into my local camera shop this to order the "free" prints for the month that were included with my D80. I ordered the prints, and made the mistake of looking at the used lens section and reading all of the good comments about the lens on the cafe. They had an AF-D 35-70 sitting on the shelf... A few minutes later, I came home $230 poorer but with a new toy... I took a few sample photos... Here is one:

[​IMG]

I've never used a push-pull zoom before, and have some questions:

Is it normal for the zoom to be reversed, like the 35-70? The 70 is at the short end, which doesn't make a lot of sense to me.

There's a metal pin sticking out of the front, right below the text saying "AF Nikkor." Does this serve a purpose?

2. PJohnP

PJohnP

Feb 5, 2005
    Chuck :

Sweet lens and a great price.

This old style push-pull doesn't work like the current models - the long end is indeed reversed.

The metal pin is to change over to manual macro mode when the lens is extended out. You extend it, push the pin in, and then focus. You'll spot a orange line ending with "M f=35" to the right of the pin on the barrel. Macro mode's limited, but works pretty well, all things considered.

Have fun with the lens - it's one of Nikon's unsung treasures.

John P.

3. irish-george

irish-george Guest

Intuitive to me...here's the logic

I've always preferred push-pull zooms and I've owned Nikon lenses for over 34 years.

Here's the thinking: