Four Days in Kathmandu

I was very lucky to get four days off work for the Eid break and fly to Kathmandu for a very cheap break.

This is my first time travelling to Kathmandu, or Asia, or anywhere not really Western (Dubai doesn't count, as it's no different to the UK, with the exception of a couple of rules), plus I travelled alone so a new experience for me.

I flew in to KTM late on Wednesday evening, when it was raining, and proceeded straight to my hotel for a few days - Hotel Blue Horizon in Thamel.

Using Thamel as a base for much of the city wide sightseeing I planned a relaxed few days which would not involve lots of early mornings/late nights and could still be considered a holiday.

Anyway, Thamel is another world! The walk from the hotel, through Thamel and down to Durbar Square is a real eye opener and something that you cannot be prepared for, coming straight off the plane from Dubai. It's an assault on the senses - the continuous blasting of the car and bike horns, the smoke and pollution, the rubbish and the amount of people all walking around the narrow streets.

Durbar Square is a very busy place - tourists, touts, locals - the lot. Once out of the square, and exploring the back streets, Kathmandu really comes alive.

1D3_8867.jpg by DubaiPhoto, on Flickr

1D3_9513.jpg by DubaiPhoto, on Flickr

The street photography opportunities are endless. I'm not a street photographer, but even I shot from the hip.

You can risk spending the whole holiday in Kathmandu city, missing so much culture a short drive outside. I hired the hotel driver for the day, as I didn't like the taxis and I didn't want to risk being left somewhere in the middle of nowhere if the taxi driver got bored of waiting.