Framing Question

Joined
Apr 26, 2005
Messages
2,594
Location
Richmond,Va
I notice alot of people put frames around there photos when they post & they make them look 100% better. I would like to do it , is there a way to do it using capture? Or do you need to use photoshop?
 
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
5,985
Location
Orlando, Florida
I use an action in Photoshop that I downloaded from atncentral.com. They have a large variety to choose from and also includes some mattes. Don't know if it's possible in Capture.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
1,662
Location
Central and Northern Canada
biggstr6 said:
I would like to do it , is there a way to do it using capture? Or do you need to use photoshop?
I don't think this could be done in capture but it can be done in almost any photo editing program (like Photo Shop).
Action central is a good place to find actions that will do it and you can also find tutorials that will teach you how to make your own.
Good luck
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
994
Location
Alabama
Bigg,

You can also create frame and matting macros in Paint Shop Pro if you don't have Photoshop. Let me know if I can help (assuming that you have PSP, not PS CS :wink: ).
 
P

papa85

Guest
Framing

Here is a site where you can download wonderful actions to work with PS 6,7 CS. It will cost you the price of two Whopper hamburger meals. It is a great program i use it all the time.

Fred Miranda's site.
http://www.fredmiranda.com/shopping/Frames
Hope this helps you out.

Tony
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
35,322
Location
Arizona
Real Name
Chris
Go to this page and search for the word 'frame' or 'bud' on the page. You'll find Bud's Frames actions. Really nice framing actions by Bud Guinn (who is a member here, but he doesn't post often.)

There is also a BUNCH of other stuff there, free for the download.
 

gho

Joined
Feb 7, 2005
Messages
2,556
Location
California
They do look better don't they. I'm a bit of a minimalist though, and rarely use frames unless the client requests it.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2005
Messages
2,594
Location
Richmond,Va
Thanks again . I spoke wrong actually , its matte that I want , I appreciate the help.

One question , since I work with my mac on the raw files , but post off my PC , Do you save the photo and matte as one file (together)? Just wondering if I downloaded it on my mac,can I save the matted photo on disk and upload the finished product to my PC? Does that make sense?
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
994
Location
Alabama
biggstr6 said:
Thanks again . I spoke wrong actually , its matte that I want , I appreciate the help.

One question , since I work with my mac on the raw files , but post off my PC , Do you save the photo and matte as one file (together)? Just wondering if I downloaded it on my mac,can I save the matted photo on disk and upload the finished product to my PC? Does that make sense?
Bigg,

If I understand your question, the answer is yes. Basically most framing and matting actions just expand the current image, or add layers to it (which are then compressed into a single layer). The result is a single image file which can be uploaded to another system or to your hosting site.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2005
Messages
2,594
Location
Richmond,Va
Thanks frank . That was my question.

Getting ready to leave for the beach for a couple of days, when I get back I'll get right on it.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
994
Location
Alabama
mike mac said:
I use an action from fredmiranda.com it is very easy and has lots of options.
I have been using an action that I wrote myself for a very basic matte look, but on the recommendations of a previous poster in this thread, I checked out the FM framing action. I only had a few minutes to fiddle with it last night, but for $12, it looks like a pretty good deal.
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2005-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom