FWIW - workflow example with ACR, DeNoise, Clarity, CEP...

Butlerkid

Cafe Ambassador
Administrator
Real Name
Karen
I was asked to show the workflow I used for an interior hand held church shot.... And no, it's probably not the best image for a comparison like this. It's just what I had!

D800, 24-120/f4 image taken at 1/90, f5.6, -0.5 comp, ISO 3200!

First, I processed this "quick and dirty", so I didn't spend a lot of time fine tuning settings in ACR, DeNoise, Clarity or Color Efex Pro (CEP) !!!!

Second, I applied each software as a separate layer in CS6.

Third, this is only my quick approach! I'm sure others have a much better process. I am by no means an expert on such things! :tongue:

Notes: The raw image is straight out of the camera - nada adjustments
The DeNoise image includes adjustments made in ACR, the use of the AWA (Adaptive Wide Angle) filter in CS6, and DeNoise
The Clarity image has changes made only using Clarity
The CEP images contains adjustments using Tonal Contrast, Pro Contrast, Darken/Lighten Center and Vignette adjustments
The final image contains a slight curve adjustment, very little dodge/burn, and Smart Sharpening (Now, I'm thinking I'll delete the curve and sharpening adjustments...they lose detail in the highlights and creates noise...!)

First are the 5 images.....then 100% crops of the 5 images....

Click on image to view on my website...

Raw
i-8kwLHnV-X3.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

DeNoise
i-58qP9W9-X3.jpg

Clarity
i-xhZqSHf-X3.jpg

CEP
i-BWS5GX2-X3.jpg

final
i-fqN9pNs-X3.jpg

Butlerkid

Cafe Ambassador
Administrator
Real Name
Karen
Here are the 100% crops....

(again, I think the "final" image should be re-done, eliminating the light curve I added and most of the sharpening!)

raw
i-zgHzJHs-X3.jpg

DeNoise
i-sMCTX7p-X3.jpg

Clarity
i-ZZkGCWC-X3.jpg

CEP
i-RFTSNWF-X3.jpg

final
i-RTL8JrN-X3.jpg

Growltiger

Administrator
Administrator
A useful series, thanks.