1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Glenwood Cemetery - Comments Please

Discussion in 'Non-Nikon Mirrorless' started by jbird, Aug 12, 2018.

1. jbird

jbird

Jun 22, 2016
    Sugar Land, Texas
    Hi, With the new camera, I got a subscription to Lightroom CC. It is my first foray into using it. I would appreciate your comments on the photos below.
    The first is the photo as shot (jpg) straight out of the camera without any adjustments.
    43819592112_d60eacd6cf_c. L1000024

The second is converting to B&W with minor lighting adjustments. The largest was for contrast.
    30132165878_091cfb3789_c. L1000024-2

The 3rd is a cropped version of the second. I must admit that it is my favorite of the 3. I like the way in intensifies or focuses on the facial expression. I think it enhances the sadness.
    29063242277_ba63a74274_c. L1000024 by Jay OConnor, on Flickr

Please let me know which you prefer an why.

• Like Like x 1
  2. Growltiger

Growltiger Administrator Administrator

There is nothing wrong with the photos as photos, but I dislike the subject. Idealised soppy near-naked children are a rather revolting art form.
    Let's see something else.

3. rick_reno

rick_reno

Dec 3, 2012
    N Idaho
    I like the third one best too. Some vignette might make the subject pop out a bit more, but I wouldn’t overdo it.

4. I like third best because I think the point of interest is the eyes looking down.

5. crazy

crazy

Feb 5, 2009
    NC
    #3 is my preference, with crop and b&w processing being the driving factors.

6. jbird

jbird

Jun 22, 2016
    Sugar Land, Texas