Grandson Max, and a question.

I stopped by my son's house in the Pocono's on Memorial Day on a return trip from Ohio. Took the usual photos, including several head-to-feet pics typical of family gathering. My grandson Max had a wonderful expression on several, but a very awkward pose...so cropping became the solution. I think the final "head and sholder" turned out pretty well, although the shot at ISO400 combined with a pretty severe crop contributes a bit of noise:

large.gif
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

My main concern is the bit of handlebar intruding at the left top, which I really couldn't crop out and get a balanced photo. I'm a novice at Photoshop...would this be hard to remove in favor of some ersatz evergreen, and is it worth doing on a photo this grainy?

Ales -

Thanks so much for the work you've done on Max. Yes, you may certainly post your version, and I thank you for it. When you do so, please explain what you have done so that I may learn.

I'm sorry for the delayed response. I have been having computer problems and posted a response earlier, but I quess it did not get transmitted.

Harry

Glad I could be of help, Harry. And don't be sorry, no bosses or deadlines here. :smile:

Here is what I have done:
I was using Photoshop and Neat Image (I noticed you are using it too). Neat Image cleared it up pretty much with my D80_ISO400 settings. I used "Filter low frequency splotches" filter settins and turned up High and Low Noise levels to about 30%. Saved the file. In Photoshop I used Clone Stamp Tool to replace the handle od the left side. Selected some of the green stuff underneath with Alt key and mouse press and then clicked on the area which I wanted to be replaced. Used smaller brush near hair.