Green bud

Discussion in 'Macro, Flowers, Insects, and Greenery' started by BostonRott, Jul 13, 2007.

1. Yea or nea? Shot this in my neighbor's garden.

D200, 105/2.8D hand-held, ISO 200, 1/250sec at f/8

2. great shot Gretchen, almost looks Si-Fi-ish

laurie

3. _Jorge_

_Jorge_

Jul 3, 2007
    Thailand
    Hi Gretchen,

I saw better in your previous thread. The main subject is overexposed IMHO (watch for the blown highlights). I like your composition but I would try to shoot from different angles as well in order to get a different color background. Hope I didn't sound too harsh and please, take my comments and suggestions with a pinch of salt as I'm just a newbie with lots to learn. Thanks for sharing.

4. tojor

tojor

Jul 27, 2005
    Denmark
    Nice composition and DOF but I agree with Jorge about the highlights.

5. A diffusor would have helped a lot but probably not be consistent with your handheld technique. An interesting image.

6. Watch out, you may have one near you!! :tongue:

Jorge,
    Thank you very much, your comments are quite helpful! I had not noticed the highlights too much until you mentioned them, and now I see them clearly. You help me learn, thank you! :smile:

As to a different color background, I was trying to keep the house out of the shot (flowers are right near the house). Do you think it would be better with some of the golden-yellow flowers OOF in the background? I will see if I can shoot another today (don't know if more buds are available).

Thank you Tojor for taking the time to look and comment, I do appreciate it! I hope to try to reshoot today, not sure if there are still buds on those flowers or not.

Dave,
    Tell me more.....how is a diffusor used? I always think of them as a flash attachement. Do you mean one of those silvery disk-type things? (i.e. looks like a frisbee and had better be WELL hidden from the dogs! :eek: ).