Hand-Held Technique

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by brad, Apr 8, 2007.

1. Greetings,

I am very new to photography. In preparation for receiving my D80, I've researched equipment, post processing; and to a lesser extent composition, exposure, etc.
    I haven't found much information online about taking the actual shot. I realise that the best shots are always going to be done with the assistance of a tripod, however I'm now interested in what I should do to get good quality hand-held shots.

How should I use my body to take better shots? Should I breathe a certain way when I am getting set? Should I stand/kneel in a certain posture? How else can I take good hand-held shots? Are there any resources (websites/books/etc) that are "must-reads?".

Cheers,

2. Baywing

Baywing

Feb 22, 2005
    CT USA
    It's been so long since I've read a book on photography.......most info is available online these days.
    As for hand holding, I usually do the following. Hold the lens (if it's a telephoto) in the left hand, supporting it from underneath. Thumb and index finger control zoom and or focus. If it's a smaller lens, I'll rest the base of the camera in my open, face up palm, thumb and index finger again reach out for the zoom/focus. Right hand always grips the camera body, trigger finger on the shutter. Left hand carries the weight, right controls the movement (aim). I'll tuck my left elbow into my gut just below the ribs. A female friend had trouble with this for, well, anatomical differences. Right arm is held close to the body. I usually don't lock my knees (I'm shooting from boats often) and having a little dampening in the knees seems to help. You can lean against sturdy things as long as they aren't moving or vibrating. In the case of boats, I'll lean on the rail with my waist to keep from going overboard, but nothing higher. I usually take a deep breath, let it out and hold. Some have better luck with holding a half-breath.