Help a newb with some lense choices?

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by dx379, Jul 14, 2008.

1. dx379

dx379

Jul 9, 2008
    Tulsa, OK
    Guys/Girls,

I recently purchase a new D300 that came with the following new lenses :

Nikon AF-S 55-200mm f/4-5.6G VR DX Lens
    and a
    Nikon 18-55mm AF-S DX VR Nikkor Zoom Lens.

I am still somewhat new to photography and trying to learn more about "glass." On another forum I was told my camera setup is like driving a Ferrari with 14" wheels :eek: 

Do you think this is a fair assumption?

Would you, in your personal opinion, suggest selling these 2 "new" lenses and picking up something else to replace them?

I plan on shooting portraits for the most part if that helps. I would prefer not to spend anymore money as I already went way over my budget! So if I were to replace the lenses above, I would only have available to spend what I could sell the lenses I already have for.

Thank you for your time. Regards,

Jonny

2. CraigH

CraigH

Mar 21, 2008
    Orlando, Florida
    Those two lenses are quite sharp. I wouldn't let that other forum bother you. Stick with them until you find a need to change. You'd have to spend a ton of money to improve very little in resolution. What you'd be paying for is a little faster speed. Be proud of what you have for now.

3. dx379

dx379

Jul 9, 2008
    Tulsa, OK
    Your response is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

I will take your advice and enjoy what I have. However, if I was to add a 3rd lens for portraits in the future- which would you recommend (<$600).

Regards,
    Jonny

4. LDB415

LDB415

Apr 26, 2008
    Texas
    You wouldn't get enough for just those two lenses to really move up the scale I don't think. I'd shoot them and learn and be putting money away in a lens fund till you can really upgrade.

5. jfrancis

jfrancis

May 8, 2005
    Orlando, FL