1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Help finding two versatile lenses

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by bigsushi, Jul 24, 2008.

1. bigsushi

bigsushi

Jul 22, 2008
    Cotonou, Benin
    I'm new to the whole DSLR scene and I'm trying to plan out a good starting point as far as lenses go. I want to purchase quality lenses that will last but I can't purchase ten different lenses, although the idea is appealing. Given my situation I've concluded that I need a couple of decent to good quality lenses that are very versatile and will function for the types of photographs that I like to shoot (landscapes, macro, and some action shots).

I've read a lot of good things regarding the 70-300 VR (Frank's thread) and the Tamron 28-300 VC. I think either one of these (or a similar lens) would take care of a lot of my needs.

I would also like another smaller to mid-range sized lens that would fill in a majority of the gap left by these lenses though. This is where I have the least knowledge. Given that I probably can not afford anything more than two lenses at this current time, what lens would compliment the larger lenses mentioned previously given the photographs that I enjoy taking?

Of course I'm open to suggestions if anyone has any lens ideas that they think would be better than what I've found. I could be completely off my rocker too in which case feel free to set me straight.

I apologize ahead of time if there have been similar threads with the information I'm looking for. I've searched and lurked for a few days but the Cafe is a big place with lots of info that I may have missed.

I appreciate any help that anyone can give me. Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 25, 2008