Help! I'm an amateur!

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by Jon H, Jul 3, 2005.

1. Jon H

Jon H

Jun 25, 2005
    Stockton, CA
    Hello all. I am a new owner of the D70, my new best friend. I got it mainly because I wanted to get back into photography and also for when I travel. I have a question that you all might be able to help me with. I am thinking about getting a zoom lens and am thinking about the 70-300mm f4-5.6 G and also the 70-300mm f4-5.6D ED. I think the first one retails for about $200 and the second is twice the price for $400. I've heard that the ED has a better quality glass than the G but I'm wondering since I'm am amateur if this is really that big of a difference. But I want a lens that I can keep and use for a long long time. (I'm a poor college student, btw.) I welcome any and all comments/advice on other possible lenses that would be good as well. FYI I mostly do landscapes, nature, and portraits. Also any advice on any other subject would be great. Thank you all.
    - Jon

2. dbirdsong

dbirdsong Guest

The ED lens is a great lens, but if you don't want to spend that kind of money consider the Sigma 70-300 Super APO Marco instead.
    I bought the "G" lens and returned it and bought the Sigma instead and it was a pretty good lens. I have since upgraded to a faster lens, but that lens served me well/

3. Gale

Gale

Jan 26, 2005
    Viera Fl
  4. fks

fks

Apr 30, 2005
    sf bay area
    hi jon-

i found this on techbargains:

Onecall has the nikon Digital SLR Zoom 300 Bag and 70-300mm f/4-5.6 G Lens Kit with D70 extended warranty for $149.88, $14.91 shipping. Tax in WA, WV

https://www.onecall.com/PID_25880.htm

ricky

5. Nikon or aftermarket?

I started with a couple tokinas
    well after a couple years I bought Nikon ED lens
    and then got into the AFs lens

just on Thursday another $1200 for a 17-55mm AFs :eek:

Nikon has a certain quality that shows

depends on where you go with photography.......