Help me think through my setup...

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by Brian-S, May 21, 2007.

1. Brian-S

Brian-S

Feb 10, 2007
    Bay Area, CA
    Hi folks,

I've been starting to accumulate some gear and am now at the point where I need to decide what's for me and what should I should part with. I am a hobbyist, and my photography falls into 2 primary categories 1) people and portraits (this includes street photography day & night) and 2) landscapes (particularly during the early morning/evening hours with lowlight). I especially like cityscapes w/ the lights and a beautiful sunset sky, for example. A distant third is B&W photography, for which I love my F5 w/ the 50 or 85 prime. The rest of the gear I have is the following:

Bodies:
    D70s
    D2h
    F5

Lenses:
    18-200
    50/1.8
    105 non-VR
    70-200 w/ 1.4x TC
    85/1.8

Flash:
    SB-800, SB-400

Tripod:
    Feisol 3301N w/ Benro ball-head

I see myself w/ 2 basic kits:

1. Travel (which is also when I tend to take most people shots, whether travelling for 2 weeks or a day-hikes). These might be both outdoors as well as inside at night during dinner, on the street, etc.
    D70s
    18-200
    85/1.8
    SB-400
    +/- 105 if I think there might be some nice plantlife

2. Serious setup (around town or when I have everything in a car and don't have to carry it). For me, this is typically walking around San Francisco.
    D2h
    F5
    70-200 +/- 1.4x (I really enjoy this for people shots as I can be a bit further away w/o having to be too conspicuous).
    50/1.8
    85/1.8
    +/- 105 as above
    SB-800
    Tripod setup

So my questions are the following:
    Does what I have make sense for what I want to do with it?
    Is there anything I SHOULD have or am missing? Or put another way, is there something else you like when you do this type of photography?
    Is there anything that does't make sense to have that I should forego or exchange for something else?

A few more notes: