Help: Model not very comfortable with her smile

Discussion in 'People' started by SamIAM, Jul 26, 2007.

1. These days I am working on my lighting 101.

How do I make my model smile spontaneously?

Afraid to show her teeth:
    [​IMG]

Opens up the lips but looks plasticy:

[​IMG]

Change of a dress does not work either:
    [​IMG]

But several months back, she smiled quite well but I did not have my cheapo umbrella kit that time:
    [​IMG]

I guess I need to persevere.:biggrin:

Someday I want to create images like Stu and Charlies. :505:

2. I am no expert, but the atmosphere looks different. She smiled easily in a "home" environment but gets "shy" in a studio. I think it is a natural reaction. She needs to be made more comfortable.

3. I have the same problem with my Niece.. Hundreds of photos and not one relaxed smile...

I guess we just keep trying!

4. OnlyJess243

OnlyJess243 Guest

same thing happens with my niece but except she does it when she knows she's "modeling." when its a snapshot while doing the shoot she smiles real big but when she knows were taking pictures for the shoot she has a calmer smile. i dont know why but i think thats just the way the little ones are when they aren't too sure on how they should smile (for a family pic or professional pic)

5. The worst thing you can do is tell her to "smile"!

If you're looking for natural expressions, you'll have to draw them out of her. Talk to her while you're shooting and click the shutter while she's reacting to something you've said. Ask her about her favourite toy, or to tell you what the best thing was that she did that day. As others have said, if you make her feel comfortable, she will LOOK comfortable and natural.

Good luck!!

6. Thank you everyone. I assume Steph summarizes it all. Need to take time and make her feel at ease...