Help please - Photoshop CS and ACR

Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
20,921
Location
SW Virginia
I find now when I open a RAW file in Photoshop CS from the file browser, I no longer get the Camera Raw interface. I get a simple preview box with only one adjustment available - a slider for exposure compensation.

I must have accidentally changed a setting somewhere, but for the life of me I can't find it.

Has anybody else had this problem ? How do I fix it?
 
Joined
May 8, 2005
Messages
4,638
Location
Orlando, FL
Did you recently install any Nikon software? The Nikon RAW converter has a nasty habit of inserting itself so that PS loads it by default. Make sure that it is removed, that you have the latest version of Camera Raw and that it is in the correct folder.
 
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
20,921
Location
SW Virginia
jfrancis said:
Did you recently install any Nikon software? The Nikon RAW converter has a nasty habit of inserting itself so that PS loads it by default. Make sure that it is removed, that you have the latest version of Camera Raw and that it is in the correct folder.
I just uninstalled NC4(free trial had expired) and that didn't help. Any other ideas?
 
Joined
May 8, 2005
Messages
4,638
Location
Orlando, FL
Check to see if you have any Nikon NEF type files in any of the Photoshop CS directories. If so, delete it.

Then check to see if you have Camera Raw.8BI in the /Program Files/Common Files/Adobe/Plug-Ins/CS2/File Formats directory.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2005
Messages
300
Location
Phoenix
Nikon software has a habit of overriding all other raw plugins.

If you have CS, go to this file: C/program files/adobe/photoshop cs/plug-ins/adobe photoshop only/file formats
remove any Nikon NEF plugin.8bi
install your ACR plugin

Hope this helps
 
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
20,921
Location
SW Virginia
jfrancis said:
Check to see if you have any Nikon NEF type files in any of the Photoshop CS directories. If so, delete it.

Then check to see if you have Camera Raw.8BI in the /Program Files/Common Files/Adobe/Plug-Ins/CS2/File Formats directory.
It appears to me that all of the above are satisfied. Under Program files/Common Files there is a Nikon directory which has two subdirectories:profiles and Message Center. I don't think the files in those directories could cause the problem.
 
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
20,921
Location
SW Virginia
Ron H said:
Nikon software has a habit of overriding all other raw plugins.

If you have CS, go to this file: C/program files/adobe/photoshop cs/plug-ins/adobe photoshop only/file formats
remove any Nikon NEF plugin.8bi
install your ACR plugin

Hope this helps
O.K. I did this, and now when I try to open a RAW file, I get an error message:

"Could not complete your request because this version of Photoshop does not supply the services required by this plugin module"
 
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
20,921
Location
SW Virginia
O.K. got it fixed now. I had moved the Camera RAW.8i for CS2 into the proper directory rather than the correct version for for CS, the version I have.

Many thanks to jfrancis and Ron H for your diagnosis. Apparently it was the Nikon Capture software which was intruding on Photoshop.
 
M

marc

Guest
it is a small problem, the acr 3.1 needs to be int he correct directory
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
34,975
Location
Arizona
Real Name
Chris
Pa said:
I downloaded the Camera RAW files from Adobe again.

Where should the file: "Adobe DNG Converter.exe" be placed?
That's a stand alone application, you can put it anywhere, Program Files > Adobe would be a logical choice. It isn't neccessary for Photoshop or ACR. You can convert RAW files to Adobe's Digital Negative format with it.
 
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
20,921
Location
SW Virginia
Chris101 said:
Pa said:
I downloaded the Camera RAW files from Adobe again.

Where should the file: "Adobe DNG Converter.exe" be placed?
That's a stand alone application, you can put it anywhere, Program Files > Adobe would be a logical choice. It isn't neccessary for Photoshop or ACR. You can convert RAW files to Adobe's Digital Negative format with it.
Thanks. I had figured that out when I ran it once just to see what it did.
 
D

David H. Lewis

Guest
Same thing happened to me, Pa. Some kind soul online steered me to the solution. Technology vs. technology!
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2005-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom