1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Help with lens selection

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by Mike126, Aug 15, 2008.

1. Mike126

Mike126

Aug 14, 2008
    Herndon, Va
    Hi everyone, I'm new to the forum and have a few questions about selecting a new lens.

I recentely entered the 20th century and bought a D80. My past experience has been shooting film (FMs) for nature/landscapes and some sports. Although, I stopped shooting for about 7 years due to family and work time commitments. Now that I'm getting back out I am realizing that things have changed somewhat.

For my next lens, I was looking at something in the range of 70-200 or 80-200. I'd prefer to stay within the Nikon line and although I'm not a pro I'd rather spend a few extra dollars and get a good quality (sharp) lens. To keep costs down, I've been looking at KEH.

Since most of my work will be around nature and landscapes and hiking is required I'm a little concerned about weight. I've been looking at the 80-200 f2.8 and since it is a 3 pound lens was a little concerned with the wieght. I'm curious as to others experiences with it for longer day hikes etc. Should I look at a slower and ligher lens?

Also, in reading some of the other threads about AF-S and AF-D lenses, it seems that the S is faster at focusing than the D. By how much? I currently have a 35-105 AF-D and while it is not too slow for me how much faster are the S lenses? All my other lenses are manual focus so I don't have much to compare to in the AF world. I'd rather not go to the DX line since I'm hoping to use this lens on my FM bodies as well.