1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Help With Photo Edit

Discussion in 'Retouching and Post Processing' started by Zeeman, Jul 25, 2008.

1. Zeeman

Zeeman Guest

I am brand new to this with a D40. I also purchased Corel Paint Shop Pro. Where do you start on a picture? Color,Sharpness just where do you start..

This is a great site

2. Seneca

Seneca

Dec 4, 2006
    Texas!
    Well the first thing I look at is Sharpness. I always sharpen more than I should.

Secondly I see if certain areas should be burned...so I do that next.

Third, I use the sponge tool a lot...don't know what your software would have that would mimic the sponge tool.

Those are probably the only things I do.

3. Seneca

Seneca

Dec 4, 2006
    Texas!
    If you post a picture I'll show you what I do step by step.

4. Since I shoot primarily in RAW, my first step is to check my exposure and white balance and correct if necessary. Then I adjust components such as: curves, levels, contrast, saturation, etc. My last step before resizing or cropping is sharpening the shot. THEre are many sites on the net with tutorials on various imaging software.

You can also try and post a picture here, unprocessed, and I am sure someone will give it a go and give you a breif description of what was done.

5. 1. White Balance*****
    2. Exposure
    3. Brightness
    4. Contrast
    5. Saturation

Then on to the more advanced stuff you can worry about further on down the road.

6. The first thing??? Should be the last thing, surely?

7. Cliffords

Cliffords Guest