Help with problem...?

Discussion in 'General Technical Discussion' started by JohnC, Aug 5, 2007.

1. I have noticed that my pictures lately have a white or blue dot in the exact same place with every shot. When I zoom in, the spot looks like a + sign.

It's white in brighter pictures and blue in dark pictures. :confused:

I seen some real small particles of dust with a flashlight, cleaned them off, made sure no dust was on it and the lens with the flashlight, and then went outside and reshot to find the same problem again.

Here is a sample picture of the dot. It's right in front of the bug if you look at it from 100%. If you zoom all the way in, it looks like a +.

http://home.comcast.net/~nx330mustang/DSC_0006.JPG

Is this dust or a pixel problem?

2. Take it to 400% and it looks like a +.

3. I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination, but I think I'd pack up that camera and send it to Nikon for service. It looks like a ccd problem. I'm sure that's the last thing you want to hear... hold on for the experts, but I'd get a nice box and some packing material together.

4. Thanks. Given that advice, I sent a message with a sample picture to Nikon. I hope it doesn't turn out to be a ccd problem like you said, though. :(

5. I swapped my 18-135mm lens for the 24-85mm and the + is still there. :(

It's looking more like a CCD problem to me now.

6. gadgetguy11

gadgetguy11

Nov 16, 2005
    Kentucky
    I agree that it is a CCD problem - looks like a "stuck pixel". I sent in a D100 to Melville, NY for cleaning and it returned with this exact problem. When I blew up the image, it also looked like a +. Nikon made it right. Nikon sent me a replacement D100, which I exchanged at my local dealer for a D70.

7. Yep! It looks 100% like a dead pixel problem. See this link. http://pages.cs.wisc.edu/~jduffy/699/

:frown::frown::frown: