1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Hmmm - second shooter opportunity - what do you think?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by leahp26, Sep 24, 2008.

1. leahp26

leahp26

Apr 28, 2008
    Southern NH
    So - I recently posted about how I may have a family wedding thing to take some pics at in November (https://www.nikoncafe.com/vforums/showthread.php?t=189033)

I'm kind of curious about the whole wedding shooting thing and so I posted on Craigslist (I know - a bit crazy)

- explained I have ZERO wedding experience
    - explained that I am an amateur photographer and am simply interested in the whole wedding experience
    - explained that I would like to second shoot but the "first shooter" would have to expect pretty much nothing from me, anything good would be a bonus

So I had a TON of emails back - a bunch of dubious ones - but one interesting one - he had a really nice website with great images - with a wedding coming on this Saturday.

He is fully aware that I am totally new to this whole thing so here's where it gets a little strange:

We've emailed back and forth (and spoke briefly) about equipment/logistics etc

- First email said he would welcome a second shooter, he wanted me to shoot RAW and burn the NEF files to a CD and mail to him after the wedding

- I asked about a model release to find out if I could post images to the web (i.e on this forum or maybe for some kind of portfolio years from now) and he said "as far as I'm concerned, anything you shoot is yours" (doesn't really address question right?)