Hosting services and web design

Discussion in 'Printers, Monitors, and Color Management' started by keith5523, Sep 18, 2008.

1. I own an used car business from which I derive income, and a sideline photography business that is gaining traction. Both have individual websites and operate independently of each other. Neither site shares a common name. I would like to create a 3rd site, using my name in the URL from which I could promote both sites. I would like to tell people to visit my personal site at www.keith5523.com (not the real name) and when they get there, they would find links to either site, thereby cross promoting either site. The folks looking for cars would see that I also do photography and vice versa. I have already secured the url, I just need a little more info and help.

That's a lot of background just to get to some simple questions, that I can't answer. I'd like the names of a few companies that will host such a small site and provide links? I have no experience in web design so that would be a plus as well. Are the places like godaddy.com the way to go?

Thanks for your opinions.

2. Gnome

Gnome

Mar 6, 2007
    Born in Europe
    Keith, there are a lot of ways to approach this, one is to use a hosting service that would permit all three sites to be co-located, another is to use separate hosts for each site to spread the chance of failure around, but essentially there are no technical problems just financial and convenience aspects to consider.

A great many folks like GoDaddy ( http://www.godady.com/ ) can offer hosting services, you largely get what you pay for, so make sure you know what you need and then compare offerings ignoring the enticing "add ons" unless you really and truly need them.

3. I do exactly that using GoDaddy.com and it works great. You just buy as many domain names as you need and then host them all in one directory on GoDaddy. I simply organize a secondary site in a set of folders off the root directory.