How can I use external HD's over 2 TB?

Discussion in 'Apple/Mac' started by Ann_JS, Oct 12, 2017.

1. Ann_JS

Ann_JS

Feb 18, 2015
    New York State
    If you use External HDs, just be sure that you can still write-to and read-from them.

Another thing: Macs won't let you use more than 2 TBs on an HD so any drive which is bigger then 2 TB will only be partially filled. I had just bought a 4TB dirve and it will have to be sent back and replaced with two smaller ones.

2. Growltiger

Growltiger Administrator Administrator

I'm no expert on Macs, but surely you could have created two 2TB partitions on the 4TB drive?

3. Never heard of that, Ann. I have a 4 TB backup drive that works like a charm.

Cheers

Mike

4. HUH? WHAT? This may be your experience but it certainly is not mine!

For several months I have been using a couple of 5 TB external (spinner) drives without any problem (both previously in HFS+ and more recently converted to APFS) on my Macs, and I also am using a couple of 2 TB Samsung external (SSD) drives which are still on HFS+ even though my machines are now all (recently) converted to APFS. Reading-and-writing from any of them has never been an issue. Before I moved into the 5 TB external drives I was using 4 TB external drives without any problems, too. I'm on "High Sierra" now on my Macs, having made the jump a few days after the new version of macOS was released. The 4 TB external drives worked flawlessly for me in HFS+ and "Sierra," and the newer 5 TB drives have worked flawlessly for me in both HFS+ and APFS.

Maybe this is a problem with your Mac(s) -- how old are they, what version of the OS are you on? -- or perhaps there is something else which is causing issues for you?