How do I get into "paid gigs"?

I've been an avid amateur/hobbyist photographer for a little over 2 years now, but I'd really like to get into some paid work. In no way do I want to make a living as a photographer, but I would really like to fund some new lenses through paid shoots.

So how did all of you get into paid shoots?
I'm hoping you don't need to "know someone", as I have no connections in the photography world.

I have no idea where to start, other than advertising on craigslist?

Thanks for the help!

That's the big question, isn't it?

I've been out there for 5 years trying to turn photography into something that makes me money, and I haven't had much luck either.

(Maybe being named Max is a curse!)

well you have to start somewhere ......... My paid shoot came from a general shoot i did for myself during one play. Company approached me for some photos afterwards since I was the only shooting there. They liked it and since that time I am their go to guy for any shooting needs.

in some way you may want to do a "freebie" in order to get a future paid

paid work is a pain in the ***. lol

i try to keep this strictly hobby

that said, you could spam yourself out on facebook, start a self-promoting photography group and invite all your contacts. (for those who are anti-facebook you are missing an excellent free advertising). post up your best images, and anytime you do a shoot get a shot of you doing the shoot and add it to the image list. it helps if people see pics of you doing what you do.

To get paid gigs, you need a strong portfolio. Most times doing TFD or even paying for a good model to model. Or simply responding to some craigslist ad and see what you get. And if you want to fund some lenses...well thats alot of gigs you got to do before you have enough unless you do weddings.