1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

How do you do that Beatles thing?

Discussion in 'General flash photography, lighting, and technique' started by stooge, Jun 29, 2008.

1. stooge

stooge

May 30, 2008
    Arcadia, NC
    OK, first of all, I am a beginner, so speak slowly and clearly.

I need some advice on how to make a photo of my kids with the look of the "Meet the Beatles" album (I think that is the right one). This is where there is a black background and half the face is lit up. I saw someone in this forum do a great job at this but I could not find the original post to ask him/her how they did it.
    I have a D80 and a SB600. Can this be done with this equipment?
    Thank you!
    Joe

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 29, 2008
  2. Put the D80 in Commander mode, set the SB600 on remote and move it off to one side of the subject(s), hang a black background, put the on camera flash on "--" and take the picture. Adjust as necessary until you get the effect you want.

3. just so folks can see what you are trying to accomplish:
    there is NO COPYRIGHT on this image

meet.jpg
    Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

4. OK, as an addition to my info in the post above: Take individual shots of each family member as described and then combine them into one image in Photoshop. If you don't know how to do that then search for "collage" and/or "montage" here on the Cafe.

5. vinman

vinman

Nov 15, 2006
    Upstate SC