1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

How do you take Infrared Shots?

Discussion in 'Night, InfraRed, and UltraViolet Photography' started by bubz, Jun 19, 2007.

1. bubz

bubz

Jul 5, 2006
    Oklahoma City, OK
    ^ hope that title got alota photographers in here..

130506791-L.jpg
    Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

Im new to Infrared.. How is it done?

with a filter? does it have to be a night time shot? and where can I get it?

thanks NikonCafe.com!

2. You either use a converted camera where the IR filter is replaced inside the camera over the sensor, or by using a lens filter.

Once converted, the camera can only be used for IR. Also by using a converted camera, you can shoot at normal shutter speeds.

With a filter, you will need a tripod, as the exposure is longer.

You shoot in daylight. You can get the filters at B&H, Adorama. You can get a camera converted at Life Pixel.

Here is a link to some good info on filters here at the Cafe':
    https://www.nikoncafe.com/vforums/showthread.php?t=53268&page=2&highlight=screw+filters

Here are a couple of links to some good information:
    http://www.lifepixel.com/digital-infrared/instructions.html

http://dpfwiw.com/ir.htm#r72

http://www.naturfotograf.com/index2.html

Hope this helps.

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 15, 2017
  3. bubz

bubz

Jul 5, 2006
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Thanks alot! your post helped alot.

I heard alot about the Hoya R-72 IR Filter.

So you shoot Daylight only? whats the difference w/ usinga filter than not using a filter..you need to bump up your exposure a little bit..anything else?

4. Chris101

Chris101

Feb 2, 2005
    Arizona