How I Do The Water Drop Shots

I though some might be interested in how I do the water drop shots. Let me preface by saying , I am no expert. There are probably as many ways to do this as there are people doing it. This is just what works for me . I am always open to suggestions on better ways and improvement.

If you have not seen the following videos and are new to water drop photography, I recommend them. The last video on the site, is by Time Warp and is what gotten me interested in trying to capture water drop shots.
The video “ How to do water drops with one speed light” is how I started.

http://strobist.blogspot.com/2009/05/how-to-photograph-water-drops-with-one.html

I started out using a zip lock bag hanging from my kitchen cabinet - see picture below. Nothing fancy as you can see. Just rigged it with what I had around.

p442430468-6.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

You can get some very interesting shots with this very simple set up . Here is an older shot using the setup in the picture above

p262036934-6.jpg

After some time, I wanted a little more control of the water drops and started using a burette similar to the one on this link, except mine was plastic. It gave me a bit more control over how fast the water drops fall.

http://www.sciencefirst.com/Burette-Glass-Teflon-Stopcock-25ml.html

I still wanted more control of how the drops fell as capturing a 2 and 3 drop collision is my goal. So I now use the Cognysis - Stop Shot. I am still working on the elusive 3 drop collision.

http://www.cognisys-inc.com/products/stopshot/stopshot.php

Whatever method used to deliver the drops, the following is the process or steps I do.

Gear: Nikon 60mm Micro lens . ( You do not have to use a macro lens, but I like that you can focus close to capture the detail of the refraction of the flower)
Tripod - A must