1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

How long will it last?

Discussion in 'Nikon FX DSLR Forum' started by lostupnorth, Jul 3, 2008.

1. Two years

21 vote(s)
    25.9%
  2. Three years

19 vote(s)
    23.5%
  3. Five years

22 vote(s)
    27.2%
  4. Seven years

19 vote(s)
    23.5%
  1. [Sorry if I mess this up, but this is my first attempt to start a poll on this site...]

I am wondering what people here think. How long do you think a D700 would be considered worth using, given the current rate of technological advancement?

(This is a serious question - I need to consider this seriously before I can buy one.)

2. Hi there
    my bet is two years. Unless you didn't get a D3, everything which is under is going to be replaced in two-three years and this causes a physiological change in people mindset
    This doesn't mean that the D700 WON'T be effectively usable or valid, just that your mind could naturally start thinking of something else.

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 3, 2008
  3. it will last as long as you want it to
    the big knockoffs are over for Nikon
    the d3 & d700 are superb cameras with no major weaknesses

so go buy one and have fun

4. LDB415

LDB415

Apr 26, 2008
    Texas
    That's going to depend on the definition of "considered worth using". For many it could be considered the primary body for probably 2-3 years at least and for many it could be considered at least the #2 body for several years. Even if someone upgrades to the D770 in 3-4 years for their primary wedding body the D700 will go along as backup. If you mean how long can it hold the primary body spot that's a different definition. I look at the question of how long until upgrades push it completely out of the picture so that's a lot of years.

5. braver

braver

Apr 2, 2008