How to do portraits with two speedlights? LONG!

Greetings!

There's a lot of information here, provided to best illustrate my assets to help get the best advice possible. I apologize for the length of all this, but I'm new to trying to get get serious with my speedlights (as I now have two TTL lights). Some of this may be irrelevant, so thanks for bearing with me!

I have an upcoming portrait session with about 20-30 graduate students (each shot separately) and I'd greatly appreciate some advice to help improve the photos I'll make -- and also to learn things that I can apply to the future. I've recently acquired some new equipment and would like to use it properly to get better shots.

This is one of the jobs I get on a yearly basis -- I photograph incoming Physics graduate students. In the past few years I've shot these photos a couple of different ways. I have usually used a solid white background for a variety of reasons. Last year, I was limited to a very confined space, with a distance to my subject of around six feet. I used a D300 handheld tethered to an SB 600 on a light stand, with an SB-80DX on a slave trigger behind the subject, aimed at the background (white foam board) using a piece of black foam board to try to keep the light off the subject. I started with the SB 600 using a large bounce card, and I believe I eventually hung a full 40x60-inch piece of white foam board behind me and bounced the SB 600 off of that. I was using TTL (not BL-TTL because the flash wasn't on the camera). One of my goals was to try to blow out the background completely or almost -- at least to avoid a shadow behind the subject. The results were better than I'd previously achieved, but I still wasn't satisfied.