How to shoot from a helicopter. A few tips.

Helicopters offer an amazing platform for aerial photography, but it can be difficult to achieve the desired results if you haven't got prior experience in the air. Helicopter flights are expensive, and most of us wouldn't want to pay to repeat a flight because the photos didn't turn out.
I fly for a living and shoot mostly for fun, so here are a few tips on how to successfully photograph from a helicopter.

The first question is:
Are you going on a tourist scenic flight, or are you hiring a helicopter solely for the purpose of aerial photography?
(For most people reading this, it'll be the former, but I've also found myself sitting next to somewhat ill-prepared professional photographers on a dedicated photo charter.)

If the flight is a fixed-price scenic tour or tourist joyflight:
Your pilot is most likely following a more-or-less strict route, and definitely trying to finish the flight in the allocated amount of flight time. Thus he/she will be somewhat limited in what he/she can do to help you get a shot.
You need to find out where exactly the flight will take you, so you know on which side of the machine you should sit to get the best photos, and how much focal length you should bring.

Doors?
As a general rule, you'll get much better results if the helicopter is flying without doors, or has large sliding windows that can be opened. Helicopter windows are usually perspex and not that great to shoot through, but on a scenic joyflight, you may not have a choice.
You can see the difference in clarity in the background of this photo:
4884843609_45db9c4147_z.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)