How was this image made?

Everyone,
Do you think that this is a compilation of two images? It's the only way that I know of that allow this kind of photograph.

There's a lot that I don't know. That's why I'm asking the friendly folks here. :smile:

http://www.astropics.com/

Rob, most of them are definitely composite images, although a couple look as though they may have been light-painted.

The former is ery easy to do with a digital camera and tripod, two or more different exposures, and decent photo-editing software. The latter not hard... a long exposure with one or more pops of the flash onto highlights.

Most of them DON'T look like HDR (High Dynamic Range) images to me, but I have no experience creating these so I might be wrong. HDRs are a step beyond simple composites, often using specialized software to create an image from several differently-exposed images.

Lot's to explore... welcome to the hobby!

Last edited by a moderator:
More than likely, it's a series of stacked images (anywhere from 30 to over 200, is not uncommon), taken by a dslr mounted either directly to a tracking mount or on top of a telescope on a tracking mount.

Astrophotographers spend 10's of thousands on tracking mounts alone, just to get pictures like this.

-Fred

I'm with Fred. There would have to be multiple techniques and tools involved in achieving images like this - as well as many years of experience.

Stacking images, a very good tracking mount, gradient filters, special filters for filtering and enhancing specific light wavelengths - he might even be using specialty films and exotic developing processes.

Whatever the tools and techniques, they are spectacular images that have won him many deserved, prestigious awards!

There are a number of threads on the internet where Wally is accused of PP and all that; he actually responds on some of them trying to describe his methods. He did say that some of his images are composites.

Sean

Latest posts