HS Softball

Discussion in 'Sports Photography' started by Bigmuddy, Apr 17, 2007.

1. Bigmuddy

Bigmuddy

Feb 28, 2007
    Ohio
    I am a new member, and posted 2 photos of our HS girls softball game.
    This is my first attempt at softball (it is tough shooting thru the chain link fence...). I was not sure what to expect on my first outing and have plenty of learning ahead of me, but I am looking forward to the challenge.

Please click on the link below and you will see a BHS sports album. Once you click on the pics you can also click on the "enlarge" button.

Thanks everyone.

2. eng45ine

eng45ine

May 11, 2005
    Chicago, IL
    Hi Brian and welcome to the Nikon Cafe. Glad that you joined us in the Sports forum, we are enjoying a great time learning from one another. I took a look at the two images that you posted and they aren't bad considering shooting softball is new for you and you shot them through a chainlink fence. Everyone has different shooting style and taste, so there is no wrong way to shoot. Regarding the image that you shot of the pitcher, you might try holding your camera vertically so you can crop a bit and highlight the pitcher's entire body. If you have a zoom long enough, I would zoom in so you can see more of her rather than widening out. The other shot isn't bad, I would also recommend zooming in tighter to highlight the action at first base and minimize on whatever is happening laterally. The more you shoot sports action, you will certainly find your own groove. Keep the images coming.

3. Bigmuddy

Bigmuddy

Feb 28, 2007
    Ohio
    Frank,

Thanks for the great feedback and welcome. I understand what you are saying about the cropping, zooming, and getting the subject tighter. I really didnt crop these two tight because I was just excited they came out half way descent.
    I will keep your tips in mind on my next journey to the diamond.

And I will echo alot of the other memebers in this forum..., your shoits are fantastic.