Hurricane Katrina

Discussion in 'Photojournalism, Candids and Street Photography' started by lr1811, Sep 11, 2005.

1. For those of you that do not know, I am a federal Law Enforcement Officer (Special Agent). I spent 6 days in New Orleans last week. We assisted search & rescue teams as well as assistance to the Jefferson Parish Sherrif's Office. Although I am proud of the experience, I would not wish what I saw on anyone. I took a lot of photos, but many did not come out as well as I had hoped. I was also unable to take my camera some of the days. Anyway, here are a few of my photos...

"This is how I ride" - in this case a minivan with side doors open and machine guns ready. In the background is the Superdome, or what many referred to as "hell"...
    [​IMG]

People took shelter underneath bridges like this one...
    [​IMG]

the water began to recede in some areas leaving the damage behind...
    [​IMG]

what looting looks like...
    [​IMG]

helicopters were everywhere... this blackhawk was landing at FEMA HQ, which is the N.O. Saints training ground...
    [​IMG]

2. Gale

Gale

Jan 26, 2005
    Viera Fl
    Brian,

Thank you for your work in this disaster. I am sure this is not a pretty sight. Very sad.

Your images are very good, thanks for sharing.

Take care and be careful.

3. Brian

Brings back a lot of memories; certainly not all good.

Having been a boot on the ground for several hurricane aftermaths I know what you are seeing.

As you are experiencing it is difficult to convey the destruction and devastation in images. What I recall was that TV & images in the newspapers could not give that overall impact.

Thanks for your efforts.

Russ

4. MontyDog

MontyDog

Jan 30, 2005
    #1064 - You have an error in your SQL syntax;

5. Leigh

Leigh

Feb 19, 2005
    Alabama