I can now access the hospital's computer from home...... NOT !!!

Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
26,905
Location
Clearwater, Florida
i am a pediatrician, who's practice is mostly office-based, of course
but.... we do see, and welcome into our practice almost 800 newborns a year, mostly from Morton Plant Hospital...
a very large not-for-profit health center with an excellent reputation
so...
everyone is going EMR/electronic medical records
the long-standing move to implement this wonderful new plan comes to full fruition tomorrow morning

it's called BEACON/CERNA
a citrix-based platform
i spent 2 hours training for it today... while on vacation
..... "it's the future," and all that crap
and....
i can now access all medical records at home
all the data
labs
radiologic studies
excellent

except this.....
IT DOESN'T WORK ON MAC
the citrix-based plug-in for mac doesn't work
now.....
this is 1996.... or, even 2005
1. the hospital spent FORTUNE on this program and system
2. it is one of the top 3 recognized programs nationwide, at this moment in time
3. physicians are an educated lot.... and, therefore, are well-know to be more "mac-compliant" than most folks...

in other words....
as many as 1/4 of the docs i know.... ONLY HAVE MACS AT HOME
so......

i think you get the point
you should have heard the yelling in the physician lounge today, when they were told that they couldn't use their macs to access the system

it only works on IE 6 and 7 at THIS point

_________________________________________________________

rant off
thanks for listening
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
26,905
Location
Clearwater, Florida
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #2
oh.....
not just Morton Plant... but... all of BAYCARE
http://baycare.org/

read about us
it's one of the largest hospital-consortiums in the US
i'm not talking about some small-time health care system

maddening
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2008
Messages
157
Location
Anchorage
We use alot of citrix here, and that's one of the good things about it is that its mostly computer independent.

Have you tried the latest OS X Mac ICA Citrix Client?

You can either use citrix through the Web Browser plugin, or you can setup a connection to the citrix servers with the "Create Custom ICA" connection with the Mac ICA Client.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2006
Messages
6,116
Location
Upstate SC
You could always install Bootcamp, or whatever the current dual boot flavor of the month is...

Best of both worlds, and all that jazz...
 
Joined
May 27, 2006
Messages
7,401
Location
Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem
Greg,

I feel your pain - I work with groups who are highly polarized on the hardware they are comfortable with.

However, expanding your software development for multiple platforms is a costly and time-intensive endeavour. It is difficult to justify multiple platforms when the development and maintenance costs are factored in.

I am bummed that my brilliant iPod Touch doesn't use Adobe's flash player - 90% of computers have Flash, but Apple chose not to support it.

Sean
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2007
Messages
1,003
Location
Austin
Try being a Linux user. :tongue:

Seriously though. They should've done a little more research into their user base before buying such a system. If the split is really 25% they made a huge mistake.

Although Citrix seams to advertise the fact that their app delivery system runs on OSX... they even have a Safari screenshot and a Macbook Pro laptop.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
4,830
Location
Newcastle, Wa
Ahhh, Citrix. Expensive host computers and software so your expensive client computer can act pretty much like a cheap dumb terminal. i.e. Old IBM mainframes with 3270 terminals. :wink::wink:
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
26,905
Location
Clearwater, Florida
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #9
Try being a Linux user. :tongue:

Seriously though. They should've done a little more research into their user base before buying such a system. If the split is really 25% they made a huge mistake.

Although Citrix seams to advertise the fact that their app delivery system runs on OSX... they even have a Safari screenshot and a Macbook Pro laptop.
i downloaded the osx-based citrix client software
installed fine
still won't run the appl
and.... the appl has a disclaimer that says it won't work with mac and that they have no intention of doing anything about that... any time soon
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
26,905
Location
Clearwater, Florida
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #11
Greg,

I feel your pain - I work with groups who are highly polarized on the hardware they are comfortable with.

However, expanding your software development for multiple platforms is a costly and time-intensive endeavour. It is difficult to justify multiple platforms when the development and maintenance costs are factored in.

I am bummed that my brilliant iPod Touch doesn't use Adobe's flash player - 90% of computers have Flash, but Apple chose not to support it.

Sean
oh, apple has been known to shut out so many popular clients on their software, as well
also, very sad
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
26,905
Location
Clearwater, Florida
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #13
We use alot of citrix here, and that's one of the good things about it is that its mostly computer independent.

Have you tried the latest OS X Mac ICA Citrix Client?

You can either use citrix through the Web Browser plugin, or you can setup a connection to the citrix servers with the "Create Custom ICA" connection with the Mac ICA Client.
i only tried the latest OS X mac ICA client
it downloads and installs fine
but... never loads the program

my XP... IE7 machine works just fine at the office

i haven't tried it with my VISTA laptop (have no choice about owning this one, either)
but... i hear that citrix won't run on VISTA, either..... no surprise there, of course
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2008
Messages
238
Location
Chatsworth, CA
So this is what you do... You tell your boss that you cannot do work from home because your computer is not supported. Or ask them to buy you a PC. Simple.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2007
Messages
5,262
Location
NJ
All joking "my Mac never has a problem" aside, why not install vmware?
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2006
Messages
2,507
I know how you feel. I switched to a Mac a few months ago, but one program (and only one) that I need for work, is only available for windows. Since I don't want anything Microsoft getting anywhere near my Mac, I was essentially forced to buy a basic (i.e. cheap :biggrin: ) laptop, for just that purpose. What a pain.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2008
Messages
157
Location
Anchorage
Just seems silly to use a product as full featured and expensive as Citrix and code your application to specifically support only one Browser type on a specific computing hardware platform.

But I guess then its easy for them to support.

"Oh...you are not using IE 7 on a PC" oh sorry you're out of luck *click*"
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2008
Messages
157
Location
Anchorage
I know how you feel. I switched to a Mac a few months ago, but one program (and only one) that I need for work, is only available for windows. Since I don't want anything Microsoft getting anywhere near my Mac, I was essentially forced to buy a basic (i.e. cheap :biggrin: ) laptop, for just that purpose. What a pain.
I'm sure you can get Wine running on OSX. Then it will probably be able to run your windows only application.

http://wiki.winehq.org/MacOSX
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2005-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom