1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

I feel free! No more DX!

Discussion in 'Nikon FX DSLR Forum' started by JPHoush, Sep 1, 2008.

1. JPHoush

JPHoush

Jun 7, 2008
    Illinois
    I've been a hobby photographer since I was in high school (over 30 years ago) and full frame, film-based cameras have been so ingrained in my shooting style that the 1.5 crop factor did not seem acceptable to me. I was checking out DSLRs back in 2002 and found it to be just too limiting. I kept with my F100 and was satisfied. I looked at my fleet of lenses and I couldn't believe that my beloved wides and ultra-wides were going to be "knee-capped" by a tiny sensor. I waited 5 years for Nikon to get with the program and come out with a reasonably priced FF DSLR. I got tired of waiting and pulled the trigger on a D300 last year and found it to be a nice camera, but the crop factor was more than irritating. I ordered a D700 and just got it a few days ago. As soon as I put my 14-24mm and 24-70mm lenses on it, I felt like I had been released from prison. What a huge difference. I am now a happy camper. If DX is all that you know, that's OK. But, for those that have spent time behind a film-based SLR, FF is what you are looking for. Yahoo!!!!!!!!!!

2. Phillip Ino

Phillip Ino

Nov 26, 2007
    Austin
    Congrats, JP :biggrin:. Now let's see some images!

3. pforsell

pforsell

Jan 15, 2008
    Wait for me wait for me... I've been DX-lens free for a while but don't have my D700 yet. Been badly teased by Francis though since I have a couple of Sigma f/1.8 and one Nikkor f/1.4 wide angles waiting to be freed from the DX dungeon.... and Francis mercilessly bombards this forum with the shots. :smile:

4. I know what you're saying, FX is a breath of fresh air.