I have a filter question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by eng45ine, Sep 6, 2005.

1. eng45ine

eng45ine

May 11, 2005
    Chicago, IL
    I am pretty darned new to digital photography so please forgive my basic question. I shoot with a D2H and 300mm f/2.8 or 70-200mm f/2.8 VR. When I shoot daytime sports, invariably, one of the teams wears a white (or very light colored) jersey. When the sun is shining brightly, the white jersey highlights are blown. I shoot mostly in aperture priority with the lens on f/2.8. I am new to adjusting the EV, but I have experimented with that which only makes the image even darker with blown highlights. So what should I do differently with my settings to achieve better results with my captures? Is there a filter that I should be using that would offer better results? I'm at a loss here...at this point, I'm praying for clouds!!! Your tips, comments, experiences are truly appreciated. Thanks one and all.....

2. Iliah

Iliah

Jan 29, 2005
    nowhere
    Dear Frank,

Center-weighted metering from the grass on the field, or spot-metering from the lightest jersey +1.7eV should do the trick. Then take some test shots, watch the histogram and adjust eV till the histogram touches the right "wall". I would also suggest keeping camera om low contrast

3. eng45ine

eng45ine

May 11, 2005
    Chicago, IL
    Thanks Iliah...I'll give that a try while shooting some football practices. I'm getting rather frustrated at this point.

4. White clothing is very difficult to shoot in bright sunlight as any wedding photographer can tell you. Iliah gave you some excellent advise. Just remember you can recover shadow area but you can't recover white that has blown out. I suggest you use highlight shadow in PS to recover the darker areas.

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2005
  5. eng45ine

eng45ine

May 11, 2005
    Chicago, IL