I would rather see the DX line of lenses expanded instead of FF

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by DeoreDX, Jul 24, 2007.

1. DeoreDX

DeoreDX

Jan 16, 2007
    Alabamastan
    I know there are many out there in a huff over Nikon not having a FF option like Canon, but personally as an amateur I would much rather see the smaller sensor taken advantage of to make us some smaller, lighter, and cheaper versions of some of the pro glass out there.

OK, not pro glass, but, take the 18-200VR as an example. It's almost exactly the same size as the 24-120VR, but covers a much greater range with more advanced VR and with higher quality (at the expense of the pocket book).

17-55 f2.8 DX with crop factor covers a greater FoV then the equivalent 28-70 f2.8 on a FF, weights 6oz lighter (20% lighter!), takes up less volume, and is consistently $100-200 cheaper from all the online vendors.

Imagine if they came out with a DX version of the 70-200VR f2.8 that would be 20% lighter (almost 1/2 lb!!!) and cost a couple of hundreds less then the FF version of a 70-200vr. Smaller, lighter, cheaper versions of the FF lenses we love... my shoulders would love to see some of that come to fruition.

2. Honestly I don't know what all the huffle puff is all about that Full Frame mania, I just bought a D2Hs and intend to keep it for a little while so yea - gimme more DX lenses! Cause I intend to get a D200 soon as well :smile:

3. I couldnt disagree more. :wink:

Each to his own.

Dont own a single DX lens, and i never will.

4. two slow

two slow

Apr 22, 2006
    Talladega, Al
    I coule see them co-existing together without any problems. In fact this is how I would like to see it happen. Both sided have their benifits and their shortcomings.
    I just hope nikon doesn't for get that alot of people don't use a D40 and a 18-200vr.

5. Well if Nikon wont be able offer a FF alternative in the near future, then ill probebly switch to mf a little earlier then i planned.